Cooking…Therapy for the Soul

I love to cook, or rather I love to eat!  I think sometimes you really have to be in the mood to cook, and in some cases, your soul yearns to cook. I think one of the reasons I enjoyed my lifestyle in Bologna so much, is because I was always in the kitchen cooking with ingredients fresh from the market. Even if I didn’t know what I was making, it always turned out delicious! That’s how I felt yesterday. I recently saw an episode of Barefoot Contessa- Back to Basics where she was cooking simple French Bistro food. I love French food, almost as much as Italian. So I decided to make a fabulous dinner for my Mom trying these 3 recipes from the show.

The first was Easy Sole Meuniere

This was so easy and delicious! Took 10 minutes to make, it’s a delicious filet of sole in lemon juice, butter, lemon zest and fresh parsley!

Secondly I made This lovely roasted butternut Squash, Ina Garten used it to make a Warm Butternut Squash Salad, but I simply roasted the butternut squash and used it as a side dish! Simply delicious! 

Butternut Squash Recipe

Lastly I made a French Apple Tart……………..1 word, INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!

Not only is this one of the EASIEST desserts I’ve ever made, but it is also impressive and delicious! It is remincent of a french pastry that you would get in Paris. The recipe is here : French Apple Tart, the only thing I did differently is instead of mixing the marmalade with rum for brushing the apples, I mixed it with Grand Marnier, I think it is a more complimentary flavor.

 

Thanks Ina Garten for getting Back to Basics!  I certainly will be trying more recipes!

Baci & Abbracci

-L.

~ by The Lux Voyager on March 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
